ICC Statement in support of Irish peace Activist Margaretta D’Arcy

Dublin/ Berlin, February 2 2014
Statement in support of Irish peace Activist Margaretta D’Arcy

Margaretta D'Arcy a 79 year old Irish peace activist on Wednesday 5th of Febuary will have served three weeks of a three month sentence in Limerick Prison, Co Clare, Ireland, for protesting against the use of Shannon Airport by US troops who use it to fly to and from their perpetual wars.

Millions of US troops have used Shannon Airport in the pursuit of the US commitment to its doctrine of perpetual war. The massive opposition by the American people to President Obama's decision to expand his war on Syria in 2013 was a major turning point, as the people of the US began to reject this horrific doctrine. Margaretta D'Arcy maybe old, but in rejecting the doctrine of perpetual war, she is more in tune with the future than the Irish Government, that now, according to its aviation policy seeks "additional military flights" through Shannon.

The RedC poll commissioned by our Irish colleagues in Peace and Neutrality Alliance showed that 78% of the Irish people supported neutrality (see www.pana.ie) and rejected any participation by Ireland in the wars of aggression being pursued by NATO/EU today.

In close international solidarity, the International Coordinating Committee (ICC) strongly condemns the imprisonment of our colleague, Margaretta D’Arcy, salutes her bravery and steadfastness in the cause of world peace and demands her immediate release forthwith.

ICC and all our international affiliates’ world -wide, send warm greetings to Margaretta D’Arcy and assure her of our constant support and actions on her behalf.

The International Coordinating Committee No to War – No to NATO consists of:

- Reiner Braun (IALANA/ IPB)
- Claire Chastain (Collectif national OTAN-Afghanistan)
- Ludo De Brabander (Vrede vzw.)
- Joseph Gerson (American Friends Service Committee)
- Kristine Karch (Women’s Network No to War – No to NATO)
- Judith Leblanc (Peace Action)
- Joe Lombardo (United National Antiwar Coalition)
- Miguel Monserrat / Cinthia Ruiz (Asamblea Permanente por los Derechos Humanos, APDH)
- Agneta Norberg (Swedish Peace Council)
- Tobias Pflüger (Information Centre Militarization (IMI)/ DFG-VK)
- Patrice Salzenstein / Yves-Jean Gallas (Mouvement de la Paix)
- Dave Webb/ Kate Hudson (Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament)
- Lucas Wirl (International Network of Engineers and Scientists for Global Responsibility (INES))
- Michael Youlton / Seamas Rattigan (Irish Antiwar Movement / Peace and Neutrality Alliance)